Gooseneck vs general-purpose kettle
Last checked 2026-10-03.
Gooseneck or general-purpose is a choice of workflow, not a quality tier. The three goosenecks here hold 0.8 to 1 L (Fellow Stagg EKG Pro 0.9 L, COSORI CO108-NK 0.8 L, OXO Brew Pour-Over 1 L); the two general-purpose kettles hold 1.7 L each (Cuisinart CPK-17P1 1.7 L, Breville Smart Kettle Luxe 1.7 L), per their makers. A gooseneck's narrow spout suits pouring slowly over coffee grounds; a general-purpose kettle suits filling a pot or several mugs at once. All five have a temperature setting and a hold, so neither style is the only way to get water below boiling.
This page has no retailer links yet; they are added at launch. No price is shown: prices move, and the price at the store is the one to check. How this site is funded.
Gooseneck kettles
| Fellow Stagg EKG Pro | COSORI CO108-NK | OXO Brew Pour-Over | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Style | gooseneck | gooseneck | gooseneck |
| Capacity | 0.9 L Fellow's product page: “Capacity: 30 oz (0.9 L)” | 0.8 L COSORI manual, specifications: “Capacity 0.85 qt / 0.8 L” | 1 L Amazon listing B074KHPS7F: “Capacity 1 liters” (the OXO manual and product page read do not state it) |
| Minimum fill | not stated: not stated in the Fellow sources read for the Pro | ½ cup / 118 mL | not stated: the OXO manual gives no minimum; it warns that under-filling may switch the kettle off before it boils |
| Temperature settings | 104–212°F in 1°F steps (0.5°C in Celsius) °F or °C, chosen in the menu; Fellow's product page: “Temperature range: 104°F-212°F / 40°C-100°C”; Fellow's Stagg EKG Pro guide: “to-the-degree temperature precision. (Using Celsius? You can even adjust to the half-degree.)” | presets 170, 180, 195, 205, 212°F °F on the buttons; the manual gives the °C for each; COSORI manual, preset buttons 170°F WHITE to 212°F BOIL BLACK | a 104–212°F dial; step not stated °F or °C, chosen with the dial; OXO manual: “choose desired water temperature between 104°F (40°C) and 212°F (100°C)”; OXO's manual gives the dial's range but not the size of a step |
| Hold after heating | 15, 30, 45 or 60 minutes, chosen in the Hold menu source | 60 minutes, if HOLD TEMP is pressed before heating finishes source | 30 minutes, then it switches off source |
| Buy | Amazon link at launch | Amazon link at launch | Amazon link at launch |
General-purpose kettles
| Cuisinart CPK-17P1 | Breville Smart Kettle Luxe | |
|---|---|---|
| Style | general-purpose | general-purpose |
| Capacity | 1.7 L Cuisinart manual: “Do not fill past 1.7L mark” | 1.7 L Breville manual: “1.7 Liter / 7 Cup Capacity” |
| Minimum fill | not stated: not stated in the Cuisinart manual | a MIN mark on the water window |
| Temperature settings | presets 160, 175, 185, 190, 200, 212°F °F on the preset buttons; Cuisinart manual, preset temperature controls 160° to Boil 212° | presets 175, 195, 200, 205, 212°F °F on the preset buttons; Breville manual: “175°F, 195°F, 200°F, 205°F, and 212°F”; it adds that temperatures “may vary +/-3 °C” |
| Hold after heating | 30 minutes, on by default; on the Boil preset it holds “a temperature just below boiling” source | 20 minutes with KEEP WARM; on the 212° setting the water is kept at “approximately 200°F” source |
| Buy | Amazon link at launch | Amazon link at launch |
Kinds of claim on this page: capacities, fill limits, temperature settings, hold times and warranties are product evidence from each maker's manual or product page, named in the table; there are no compatibility statements here, since no part is shared between these kettles; what a maker says about materials touching the water (“BPA free”, “food-grade stainless steel”) is a manufacturer claim, quoted as theirs; a value no source read states is unknown and shown as not stated, never as zero. No price is shown.
How to choose between the two styles
- Pour-over coffee, one or two cups: a gooseneck lets you aim a thin stream; that is its purpose, as each gooseneck maker describes it. No flow rate is stated by any maker, and none is claimed here.
- Tea for several people, or a French press: capacity matters more. The general-purpose kettles here hold 1.7 L against 0.8–1 L.
- Exact temperatures: the Fellow sets any whole °F (or half °C) from 104 to 212°F; the OXO has a 104–212°F dial whose step OXO does not state; COSORI, Cuisinart and Breville offer presets only. See which can be set to a given temperature on the comparison page.
- Boil and hold: two of them keep water just under a boil when held on the boil setting (Cuisinart “just below boiling”; Breville “approximately 200°F”), per their manuals.
A gooseneck is not safer or better for everyone, and no burn-safety claim is made for either style. Stovetop goosenecks are left out: this pilot covers US electric kettles only.
We tested nothing: no temperature accuracy, heating time, flow rate or pouring control was measured, and nothing here ranks kettles. A temperature a kettle is set to, or shows, is the maker's setting, not an independently measured temperature. Rated watts are not shown as a heating-speed or energy comparison. This is not advice on preparing infant formula or on any medical use of hot water; follow each maker's own use and cleaning instructions.
Alternatives to one popular gooseneck: Fellow Stagg EKG Pro alternatives. Materials, hold and settings for all five: temperature-control kettle comparison.