Indoor pizza oven clearance, power and counter fit
Last checked 2026-10-02.
Both manuals ask for 4 in (10 cm) of space at the sides and 6 in (15 cm) above: "on both sides" for the Breville Pizzaiolo, "on all sides" for the Ooni Volt 2. Breville adds that the Pizzaiolo is "not suitable to be used in a small appliance enclosure" and recommends a dedicated circuit; it is rated 1800 W, the Volt 2 1600 W. Both require a grounded outlet and both forbid outdoor use.
As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.
Space and counter fit
| Oven | Clearance (manual) | Enclosure rule | Outside size (maker) | Door opening height | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breville Pizzaiolo | 4 in (10 cm) on both sides and 6 in (15 cm) above (instruction book, setup) | "The oven is not suitable to be used in a small appliance enclosure. Ensure to leave adequate space all around the oven. Minimum space of 4 inches/10cm is recommended." (instruction book) | 18.1 × 18.5 × 10.6 in (W × D × H, Breville's page) | not stated by the maker | Amazon › |
| Ooni Volt 2 | 4 in (10 cm) on all sides and 6 in (15 cm) above (manual) | not stated by the maker | 21.5 × 17.4 × 10.4 in (545 × 442 × 263 mm), unboxed (Ooni's page) | 3.6 in (91 mm) (Ooni's page, "Oven Opening Height") | No Amazon link: the Amazon offer for both colors is sold by Ooni USA, not Amazon.com |
Add the clearances to the outside size for the space each manual asks for while cooking. Which side the Volt 2's 21.5 in runs along is not stated on Ooni's page.
Surface
- Breville Pizzaiolo: stable, level, heat-resistant and clean; not on a cloth-covered surface or near curtains (instruction book).
- Ooni Volt 2: level, stable and heat-resistant, with a trivet or heat-resistant pad recommended; "Never set it on top of glass or plastic." (manual).
Power, as the manuals state it
| Oven | Rating | Outlet | Circuit | Extension cord |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breville Pizzaiolo | 120 V~ 60 Hz 1800 W (instruction book) | "must be grounded using a 3-hole properly grounded outlet"; never cut the ground prong or use an adapter (instruction book) | "We recommend operating the oven on a dedicated circuit separated from other appliances. Consult a licensed and qualified electrician if you are unsure." (instruction book) | allowed "if care is exercised": a marked rating at least as great as the oven's, arranged so it does not drape over the counter, with a 3-prong grounding plug (instruction book) |
| Ooni Volt 2 | 120 V~ 50–60 Hz 1600 W (manual, US/CA rating plate) | "Use only on properly grounded / earthed outlets." (manual) | not stated by the maker | allowed "with care": a marked rating at least as great as the oven's, arranged so it does not drape over the counter, and a grounding-type 3-wire cord (manual) |
Quoted from the manuals, not advice. Breville's manual says to consult a licensed and qualified electrician if you are unsure; do the same for either oven.
Electric does not mean indoor
An oven being electric says nothing about where its maker allows it to be used: that is a rule in each maker's manual. Both ovens here carry an explicit one. Breville: "Do not use the appliance outdoors"; "This appliance is for household use only" (instruction book). Ooni: "Ooni Volt 2 is designed for indoor use only."; "Do not use outdoors." (manual). For any other electric pizza oven, read its own manual before using it indoors; this page names no other oven because no other maker's first-party statement was read for it.
Sources
Each maker's own pages and manuals, read 2026-10-02:
- Breville Pizzaiolo: Breville's US Pizzaiolo page and the BPZ820 instruction book, the instruction book Breville's US product page links (BPZ820 Series, USCM – K26).
- Ooni Volt 2: Ooni's US Volt 2 page and the Volt 2 manual (PA-A00A31), linked from ooni.com/pages/volt-2-getting-started; its US/CA rating plate names SKUs UU-P35A00 and UU-P35B00.
- Ooni Pizza Stone – 10mm (UU-P25F00): Ooni's Pizza Stone – 10mm page.
Kinds of claim on this page: indoor-use rules, ratings, clearances, contents and pan rules are product evidence from each maker's manual or page for this exact model; temperatures and cook times are each maker's manufacturer claim, quoted and attributed; a stone fits only where Ooni's own listing says so, a compatibility statement; anything no maker source states is unknown and shown as not stated. Recall check: the CPSC recall database on 2026-10-02 (CPSC recall database (saferproducts.gov recall API): product name 'oven' (47 recalls) and recall title and product name 'Breville' (1 recall). The 'Ooni' and 'pizza' queries returned an error (HTTP 503), so no result was read from them); none of the 47 oven recalls names Ooni, Breville or either oven here; one is a gas grill with a built-in pizza oven (Cuisinart Propel+ 3-in-1 Gas Grill, model CGG-6331, recall 26605, July 2026), not an indoor electric oven; the one Breville recall (2015) is for pressure cookers. That is not proof of safety: check your unit's model number. Amazon offers read 2026-10-02 (about 21:29 UTC, US delivery address): the seller decides whether a row is linked, and only Amazon.com offers are.
Nothing here was tested: no bake, temperature, preheat or cook-time measurements. Temperatures and pizza times are the makers' own claims. This page gives no electrical advice: follow the manual, and ask a licensed electrician about your circuit, as Breville's manual itself says.
More on indoor pizza ovens: Breville Pizzaiolo vs Ooni Volt 2, stones, pans and what comes in the box. A countertop oven instead: countertop oven clearance and counter fit.