ApplianceEvidence

Countertop oven clearance and counter fit

Last checked 2026-10-03.

A countertop oven needs its own footprint plus the clearance its manual asks for: the Breville BOV900 4 in on each side and 6 in above; the Cuisinart TOA-70 2 to 4 in from the wall and any object, and no wall cabinet above; the Ninja SP101 "adequate space" with no distance given. The Ninja flips up to store against the backsplash, but only once cool, and it cooks flipped down.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.

The checklist

  1. Width: the oven plus the side clearance on both sides.
  2. Depth: the oven plus any space behind it the manual asks for (the Cuisinart's 2 to 4 in from the wall; the Breville's manual states none behind).
  3. Above: the Cuisinart may not run under a wall cabinet or in an appliance garage; the Breville needs 6 in above; the Ninja's manual gives no figure.
  4. Flip-up storage: storing a flip-up oven upright is not a way to run it in a smaller spot: it cooks in the flipped-down position, and its stored size is not stated.
  5. Power: 1800 W on a 120 V outlet per the Ninja manual (its listing says 1750 W); the Ninja manual says never to use an outlet below the counter.

Worked example: a counter 24 in wide and 18 in deep, with 18 in free up to a wall cabinet

OvenWidthDepthHeightBuy
Cuisinart TOA-70fits, with the manual's clearancefits, with the manual's clearancedoes not fitAmazon ›
Breville BOV900does not fitthe unit fits; clearance not stateddoes not fitAmazon ›
Ninja SP101unknownunknownthe unit fits; clearance not statedAmazon ›

Where the manual gives a range (the Cuisinart's 2 to 4 in), a space between the two totals is unknown. "The unit fits; clearance not stated" means only the closed oven fits: its manual gives no distance to add. Door swing is not stated in any source read.

All three specifications

Cuisinart TOA-70Breville BOV900Ninja SP101
SellerAmazon.comAmazon.comAmazon.com
ModelTOA-70BOV900BSSUSCSP101
Power1800 W, 120 V (Amazon listing)1800 W (Amazon listing)1800 W, 120 V, 60 Hz (manual); the Amazon listing says 1750 W
Exterior (listing)W 15.75 in (40 cm) x D 12.25 in (31.1 cm) x H 13.75 in (34.9 cm)
Amazon listing (D x W x H 12.25 x 15.75 x 13.75 in)
W 21.5 in (54.6 cm) x D 17.5 in (44.5 cm) x H 12.7 in (32.3 cm)
Amazon listing (D x W x H 17.5 x 21.5 x 12.7 in)
W unknown x D unknown x H 7.56 in (19.2 cm)
Amazon listing gives 19.72 x 14.96 x 7.56 in labelled D x W x H; which side is the width in the cooking position is not stated, so width and depth are left unknown; the flipped-up storage size is not stated
Clearance (manual)be sure the oven is 2 to 4 inches away from the wall or from any objects on the countertop; do not operate under wall cabinets or in an appliance garage; objects should not be stored on top of the oven (manual)when operating, keep a minimum distance of 4 in (10 cm) of space on both sides of the appliance and 6 in (15 cm) above (manual); space behind is not statedprovide adequate space above and on all sides for air circulation; never use an outlet below the counter (manual); no distance in inches is given
Under a wall cabinetnot allowed by the manualnot ruled out; 6 in above requirednot addressed
Flip-up storagenonoflips up to store against the backsplash; do not flip it up while it is illuminated, wait for it to cool; flip it down into the cooking position before use (manual)
Interior (listing)0.6 cu ft; toasts 6 slices, bakes a 12-inch pizza (Amazon listing)16 x 13.5 x 7 in, 1 cu ft; fits most 9 x 13 in pans (Amazon listing)fits a 13-inch pizza, up to 9 slices of toast (Amazon listing)
Included pans (manual)baking pan/drip tray (size not stated), oven rack, air fry basket, reversible grill/griddle plate13-inch non-stick pizza pan, wire racks (2), 9 x 13 in broiling rack, 9 x 13 in enamel roasting pan, air fry/dehydrate basketsheet pan (size not stated), wire rack, air fry basket, removable crumb tray
A 9 x 13 in pannot stated in the sources readyes: a 9 x 13 in roasting pan is included (manual)not stated in the sources read
ManualCuisinart TOA-70 instruction bookletBreville BOV900 instruction bookNinja SP101 owner's guide
BuyAmazon ›Amazon ›Amazon ›

No prices are shown: check the current price at the retailer. The comparison is on the manuals' clearances, sizes and included pans.

Kinds of claim on this page: clearances, operating rules, power and included pans are product evidence from each manual; exterior and interior sizes are from each Amazon listing, labelled so (read 2026-10-03); a pan fits only where a compatibility statement says so; words such as "crispy" or "cooks faster" are a manufacturer claim and are not repeated; anything no source states is unknown.

Left out, and why

We tested nothing: no crispness, evenness, preheat, noise or energy measurements. Rated wattage is not an energy cost or a saving. Clearances follow each manual; this site adds none of its own and does not say an oven is safe in a spot its manual does not address.

Head to head: Cuisinart TOA-70 vs Breville BOV900. Pans: what fits inside.