ApplianceEvidence

Espresso or filter grinder, for the brewer you have

Last checked 2026-10-03.

Every grinder here lists both espresso and filter settings in its manual, so the question is what you brew with. For espresso, the portafilter size decides whether an included dosing part is stated to fit: the Encore ESP's cup and ring cover 54mm and 58mm, the Smart Grinder Pro's cradles 50–54mm and 58mm, and the Encore and OXO include none. None of the four manuals lists another part as required.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No price is shown: prices move, and the price at the store is the one to check. More.

Fit, by the brewer you already have

Your brewerBaratza Encore
Amazon ›
Baratza Encore ESP
Amazon ›
Breville Smart Grinder Pro
No Amazon link: on 2026-10-03 its Amazon US listing (B00OXGXW8O) was sold by Seattle Coffee Gear, a third-party seller, not by Amazon.com
OXO Brew Conical Burr
Amazon ›
Filter only (drip, pour-over, AeroPress, French press)manual lists filter settingsmanual lists filter settingsmanual lists filter settingsmanual lists filter settings
Espresso machine with a 54mm portafilterno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its grounds binincluded part stated to fitincluded part stated to fitno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its stainless steel grounds container
Espresso machine with a 58mm portafilterno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its grounds binincluded part stated to fitincluded part stated to fitno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its stainless steel grounds container
Espresso machine with a 51mm portafilterno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its grounds binno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its dosing cupincluded part stated to fitno included part stated to fit this size; grinds into its stainless steel grounds container

"Stated to fit" means the manual names that portafilter size; a part is never called compatible from its diameter. Buying an espresso machine as well is a different question, not covered here.

How each divides its settings

Baratza EncoreBaratza Encore ESPBreville Smart Grinder ProOXO Brew Conical Burr
ModelZCG485ZCG495BCG820BSS8717000
Grind settings40406015
How you adjustturn the hopper; 40 stepped settings, 1 finest to 40 coarsestturn the hopper; 40 stepped settingsgrind size dial; 60 settings from espresso to press, with a digital timer for dosegrind size selector, 1 fine to 15 coarse, with a timer dial
How the settings are dividednot statedsettings 1–20 are the espresso range, where each step changes grind size by a small amount; settings 21–40 are the filter range, with larger stepsthe manual says to use the finer settings 1–30 in the espresso rangethe manual's guide: espresso fine 1–5, pour-over/drip medium 6–10, French press/cold brew coarse 11–15
Manual's espresso starting setting815not statednot stated
Burrs40 mm conical (Baratza product sheet)conical (manual); size not stated in the manualhardened stainless steel conical (manual); size not statedconical, removable upper burr (manual); size not stated
Espresso dosing parts in the boxnone listedespresso dosing cup, dosing cup base, 58mm adapter ringportafilter cradle 50–54mm, portafilter cradle 58mmnone listed
Portafilter sizes the maker says they fitnone statedmanual: the dosing cup and 58mm adapter ring 'allow for easy transfer of coffee into a 54mm or 58mm portafilter'; remove the adapter ring for 54mmmanual accessories list: portafilter cradle 50–54mm and portafilter cradle 58mmnone stated
Grinds intogrounds bindosing cup (espresso) or grounds bin (filter)portafilter (in a cradle), grinds container, or a drip filter basketstainless steel grounds container
Size, case only (maker)13 × 15 × 34 cm (W × D × H) (Baratza ZCG485 US product page)13 × 15 × 34 cm (W × D × H) (Baratza ZCG495 US product page)8.5 × 6.3 × 15.3 in (W × D × H) (Breville BCG820 US product page)6.8 × 11.8 × 14.8 in, as OXO lists it (OXO does not say which figure is width, depth or height) (OXO Conical Burr Coffee Grinder US product page (SKU 8717000))
Operating space the maker requiresunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearanceunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearanceunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearanceunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearance
Power70 W (Baratza ZCG485 US product page)70 W (Baratza ZCG495 US product page)165 W (Breville BCG820 US instruction book)not stated
Voltage120 V (US listing)120 V (US listing)120 V (manual)110/120 V (manual)
SellerSold by Amazon.comSold by Amazon.comSold by Seattle Coffee GearSold by Amazon.com
ManualBaratza Encore operations manual (v4.3)Baratza Encore ESP operations manual (v1.0)Breville BCG820 Smart Grinder Pro US instruction bookOXO Brew 8717000 instruction manual
BuyAmazon ›Amazon ›No Amazon link: on 2026-10-03 its Amazon US listing (B00OXGXW8O) was sold by Seattle Coffee Gear, a third-party seller, not by Amazon.comAmazon ›

Kinds of claim on this page: settings, suggested starting points, included parts and portafilter fit come from each maker's manual, and size and power from its manual or US product page; each is a manufacturer claim; the seller is the Amazon listing on 2026-10-03, and no price is shown; product evidence here means those documented specifications, not a grind test; anything no source states is unknown.

Left out, and why

We tested nothing: no particle-size, retention, noise, speed or taste measurements, and nothing here ranks grind quality. More settings is not shown as better grinding; a manual's suggested setting is a starting point it says to adjust.

Head to head: Baratza Encore vs Encore ESP and Breville Smart Grinder Pro vs Baratza Encore ESP.