Baratza Encore vs Encore ESP
Last checked 2026-10-03.
Per Baratza's manuals, both have 40 settings and both list an espresso starting point, setting 8 on the Encore and 15 on the Encore ESP. The difference is that the ESP gives half its range to espresso in small steps, and its box adds a dosing cup and a 58mm adapter ring for 54mm or 58mm portafilters.
As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No price is shown: prices move, and the price at the store is the one to check. More.
Side by side
| Baratza Encore | Baratza Encore ESP | |
|---|---|---|
| Model | ZCG485 | ZCG495 |
| Grind settings | 40 | 40 |
| How you adjust | turn the hopper; 40 stepped settings, 1 finest to 40 coarsest | turn the hopper; 40 stepped settings |
| How the settings are divided | not stated | settings 1–20 are the espresso range, where each step changes grind size by a small amount; settings 21–40 are the filter range, with larger steps |
| Manual's espresso starting setting | 8 | 15 |
| Burrs | 40 mm conical (Baratza product sheet) | conical (manual); size not stated in the manual |
| Espresso dosing parts in the box | none listed | espresso dosing cup, dosing cup base, 58mm adapter ring |
| Portafilter sizes the maker says they fit | none stated | manual: the dosing cup and 58mm adapter ring 'allow for easy transfer of coffee into a 54mm or 58mm portafilter'; remove the adapter ring for 54mm |
| Grinds into | grounds bin | dosing cup (espresso) or grounds bin (filter) |
| Size, case only (maker) | 13 × 15 × 34 cm (W × D × H) (Baratza ZCG485 US product page) | 13 × 15 × 34 cm (W × D × H) (Baratza ZCG495 US product page) |
| Operating space the maker requires | unknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearance | unknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearance |
| Power | 70 W (Baratza ZCG485 US product page) | 70 W (Baratza ZCG495 US product page) |
| Voltage | 120 V (US listing) | 120 V (US listing) |
| Seller | Sold by Amazon.com | Sold by Amazon.com |
| Manual | Baratza Encore operations manual (v4.3) | Baratza Encore ESP operations manual (v1.0) |
| Buy | Amazon › | Amazon › |
Filter starting points, per each manual
| Brew method | Baratza Encore | Baratza Encore ESP |
|---|---|---|
| AeroPress | 12 | 22 |
| Hario V60 | 15 | 25 |
| Automatic brewer | 18 | 28 |
| Chemex | 20 | 30 |
| French press | 28 | 32 |
The numbers differ because the two dials are divided differently; the same number is not the same grind on both.
Kinds of claim on this page: settings, suggested starting points, included parts and portafilter fit come from each maker's manual, and size and power from its manual or US product page; each is a manufacturer claim; the seller is the Amazon listing on 2026-10-03, and no price is shown; product evidence here means those documented specifications, not a grind test; anything no source states is unknown.
Left out, and why
- Baratza Encore ESP Pro ZCG595 (B0FN6NHYDW): a different model from the Encore ESP; not compared, so the two are never confused
- Fellow Opus 2 (B0FPCHNSX2): its US manual was not read for this pilot
- Baratza Encore ZCG484WHT and ESP ZCG495WHT: white versions of the listed models; one exact listing per model is linked
We tested nothing: no particle-size, retention, noise, speed or taste measurements, and nothing here ranks grind quality. More settings is not shown as better grinding; a manual's suggested setting is a starting point it says to adjust.
Another espresso-capable choice: Breville Smart Grinder Pro vs Baratza Encore ESP. Which grinder for the brewer you have: espresso vs filter grinder.