ApplianceEvidence

Breville Smart Grinder Pro vs Baratza Encore ESP

Last checked 2026-10-03.

Per their manuals, the Breville Smart Grinder Pro has 60 settings with a timer and grinds straight into a portafilter held in an included 50–54mm or 58mm cradle; the Baratza Encore ESP has 40 settings, half of them an espresso range, and grinds into a dosing cup you flip into a 54mm or 58mm portafilter.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No price is shown: prices move, and the price at the store is the one to check. More.

Side by side

Breville Smart Grinder ProBaratza Encore ESP
ModelBCG820BSSZCG495
Grind settings6040
How you adjustgrind size dial; 60 settings from espresso to press, with a digital timer for doseturn the hopper; 40 stepped settings
How the settings are dividedthe manual says to use the finer settings 1–30 in the espresso rangesettings 1–20 are the espresso range, where each step changes grind size by a small amount; settings 21–40 are the filter range, with larger steps
Manual's espresso starting settingnot stated15
Burrshardened stainless steel conical (manual); size not statedconical (manual); size not stated in the manual
Espresso dosing parts in the boxportafilter cradle 50–54mm, portafilter cradle 58mmespresso dosing cup, dosing cup base, 58mm adapter ring
Portafilter sizes the maker says they fitmanual accessories list: portafilter cradle 50–54mm and portafilter cradle 58mmmanual: the dosing cup and 58mm adapter ring 'allow for easy transfer of coffee into a 54mm or 58mm portafilter'; remove the adapter ring for 54mm
Grinds intoportafilter (in a cradle), grinds container, or a drip filter basketdosing cup (espresso) or grounds bin (filter)
Size, case only (maker)8.5 × 6.3 × 15.3 in (W × D × H) (Breville BCG820 US product page)13 × 15 × 34 cm (W × D × H) (Baratza ZCG495 US product page)
Operating space the maker requiresunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearanceunknown: none of the manual's setup or safety text states a clearance
Power165 W (Breville BCG820 US instruction book)70 W (Baratza ZCG495 US product page)
Voltage120 V (manual)120 V (US listing)
SellerSold by Seattle Coffee GearSold by Amazon.com
ManualBreville BCG820 Smart Grinder Pro US instruction bookBaratza Encore ESP operations manual (v1.0)
BuyNo Amazon link: on 2026-10-03 its Amazon US listing (B00OXGXW8O) was sold by Seattle Coffee Gear, a third-party seller, not by Amazon.comAmazon ›

What differs in use

Kinds of claim on this page: settings, suggested starting points, included parts and portafilter fit come from each maker's manual, and size and power from its manual or US product page; each is a manufacturer claim; the seller is the Amazon listing on 2026-10-03, and no price is shown; product evidence here means those documented specifications, not a grind test; anything no source states is unknown.

Left out, and why

We tested nothing: no particle-size, retention, noise, speed or taste measurements, and nothing here ranks grind quality. More settings is not shown as better grinding; a manual's suggested setting is a starting point it says to adjust.

The Encore ESP against the plain Encore: Baratza Encore vs Encore ESP.