ApplianceEvidence

KitchenAid Classic vs Artisan

Last checked 2026-10-11.

Per KitchenAid's US pages, the Classic (K45SS) and the Artisan (KSM150PS) are both 10-speed tilt-head mixers with metal construction and the same attachment hub. The Artisan has a 5 qt bowl with a handle instead of 4.5 qt, KitchenAid rates it at 9 dozen cookies against 8, and it adds a pouring shield. The Amazon listings give 325 W for the Artisan and 275 W for the Classic.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. The page links only offers sold by Amazon.com. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.

Side by side

KitchenAid Classic K45SSKitchenAid Artisan KSM150PS
ModelK45SS (KitchenAid's page shows K45SSWH, white)KSM150PS (KitchenAid's page shows KSM150PSER, Empire Red)
Typetilt-head; the head locks in place while mixingtilt-head; the head locks in place while mixing
Bowl4.5 qt stainless steel, dishwasher safe5 qt stainless steel with a handle, dishwasher safe
Batch size (KitchenAid)up to 8 dozen cookies (flat beater, 28 g of dough each)up to 9 dozen cookies (flat beater, 28 g of dough each)
Speeds1010
In the box4 accessories: bowl, coated flat beater, coated dough hook, 6-wire whip5 accessories: 5 qt bowl, coated flat beater, coated dough hook, 6-wire whip, pouring shield
Pouring shieldnot in the box listincluded
Constructionmetal; 59 touchpoints around the bowlmetal; 59 touchpoints around the bowl
Attachments10+ optional attachmentsover 10 optional hub-powered attachments
Power275 W, 120 V (Amazon listing; the KitchenAid page read does not state it)325 W, 120 V (Amazon listing; the KitchenAid page read does not state it)
Colorsnot stated in the sources readover 20 (KitchenAid)

Each value is as its source states it. No prices are shown.

What differs

Where to buy in the US

Sources

Kinds of claim on this page: Bowl, batch, speed and box contents are KitchenAid's own statements, manufacturer claims. The wattage is the Amazon listing's stated figure, product evidence from the retail listing. Nothing here was tested. Sources read 2026-10-11; Amazon US offers read 2026-10-11 (14:16 to 14:25 UTC, US delivery address East Hanover NJ 07936; every buy box showed Shipper / Seller Amazon.com, In Stock and Add to cart, not a pre-order). Recall check: the CPSC recall database on 2026-10-11 (saferproducts.gov recall API: recall titles 'breville', 'kitchenaid', 'coway', 'levoit', 'ninja' and 'sharkninja', and product names 'creami', 'ice cream', 'stand mixer' and 'air purifier'); no recall of any of these eight models was returned; every result named other products, for example a 2025 SharkNinja pressure cooker, a 2015 Breville pressure cooker and KitchenAid kettles, coffee makers, toasters and food processors. That is not proof of safety.

Related: KitchenAid Artisan alternatives, KitchenAid tilt-head vs bowl-lift, which bowl and attachment fit which mixer.