ApplianceEvidence

How much spot cleaner formula you use

Last checked 2026-10-03.

How much formula a cleaning uses depends on the machine and the formula: Hoover's manual says 5 oz of its concentrate per 40 oz tank for general cleaning; BISSELL's current guide gives fill lines, not ounces; and Hoover's Oxy solution is sold pre-mixed. Worked example with an assumed amount (yours to change, not a manual's figure for this formula): 5 oz a fill, 10 fills, uses 50 oz, which is 2 bottles of the 32 oz BISSELL Little Green formula 32 oz. For the cost, enter the bottle price you see in the calculator: cost = ounces used × bottle price ÷ bottle size.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.

Bottle sizes

FormulaSizeMixingBuy
BISSELL Little Green formula 32 oz32 ozdiluted in the machine per its fill linesAmazon ›
BISSELL Little Green formula 60 oz60 ozdiluted in the machine per its fill linesAmazon ›
Hoover Oxy solution 32 oz32 ozpre-mixed, per its listing ("comes pre-mixed so you can simply pour and go"); the machine manual's 5 oz to 35 oz chart is for Hoover concentrate, so it is not applied to this solutionAmazon ›

No prices are shown: check the current price at the retailer. The calculator gives a cost only from a bottle price you enter.

Calculator

50 oz of formula, 2 bottles. Enter the bottle price you see for a cost.

Without JavaScript the calculator does not update; the worked example shows the arithmetic. The ounces per fill are your assumption unless your machine's manual gives them for the formula you use. The trial bottle in each machine's box is not subtracted, because its size is not stated. The page supplies no price; a cost appears only from the bottle price you enter, and it is formula cost only, not a cost per room or per stain.

The two machines

BISSELL Little Green 1400BHoover CleanSlate Plus FH14050
SellerAmazon.comAmazon.com
Model1400BFH14050
Waterhot (not boiling) tap water; no heater (1400 Series user guide)warm tap water; no heater (user manual)
Clean tank48 oz
Amazon listing ("48oz. clean water tank")
40 oz
user manual formula ratio chart (40 oz tank; large-area line 39 oz, small-area line 20 oz)
Formula per fillnot stated
the current 1400 Series user guide says to follow the fill lines on the clean tank for water and formula and gives no ounce figure; an older (2008) 1400 guide printed an 8 oz formula line, which is not assumed to apply to this unit
5 oz
the manual's chart, headed "if using Hoover concentrate": general cleaning 5 oz of formula to 35 oz of water; tough stains formula at 100% concentration
Fabric codes it may clean"W" or "WS" on the manufacturer's tag means you can use your Little Green; if the tag is coded "S" (with diagonal strike-through) or says "Dry Clean Only", do not proceed; if the tag is missing or not coded, check with your furniture dealer (1400 Series user guide)use only if upholstery fabric is marked "W" (wet clean) or "S/W" (solvent/dry or wet clean); don't clean fabric marked "S" (solvent/dry clean only); test for colorfastness in a small, hidden area (user manual)
Formula it takesuse only BISSELL portable machine formula; formulas with lemon or pine oil, chemical spot cleaners or solvent-based removers should not be used (user guide)use HOOVER cleaning fluids intended for use with this machine (user manual)
In the box3-inch Tough Stain Tool, HydroRinse self-cleaning tool, trial-size formula (Amazon listing)7-inch WidePath tool, TightSpot tool, hose rinse tool, trial Oxy cleaning solution (Amazon listing)
Weight9.65 lb
Amazon listing item weight, empty; filled weight is not stated
9.4 lb
Amazon listing item weight, empty; filled weight is not stated
Hose and cord reachnot stated in the sources readnot stated in the sources read
ManualBISSELL Little Green 1400 Series user guideHoover CleanSlate Plus FH14050 user manual
BuyAmazon ›Amazon ›

No prices are shown: check the current price at the retailer. The calculator gives a cost only from a bottle price you enter.

Kinds of claim on this page: fabric codes, formula rules, tank sizes and what is in the box are product evidence from each machine's manual or listing (read 2026-10-03); which formula goes in which machine is a compatibility statement, only as the machine's manual gives it; words such as "removes stains" or "eliminates odors" are a manufacturer claim and are not repeated as findings; anything no source states, including hose and cord reach, is unknown.

We tested nothing: no stain, odor, drying or noise measurements. Nothing here says a machine or formula removes a particular stain, sanitizes, removes allergens or dries faster. A machine being allowed on a fabric code is not permission to wet-clean every sofa: check the care tag, test a hidden area, and follow the manual. Never mix cleaning chemicals.

Which formula goes in which machine: upholstery codes and spot cleaners. Head to head: BISSELL 1400B vs Hoover CleanSlate Plus.