Sous vide without an app or subscription
Last checked 2026-09-25.
Anova says all its sous vide cookers have manual controls except the Mini, and that they work without a subscription; its paid Premium plan (after a 14-day trial) adds recipes and app features. Breville says Breville+ is free with the Joule Turbo, but no Breville source read says whether the Joule Turbo can cook without a phone, so that is marked not stated. App generations matter: Breville says the original Joule cannot pair with the new app.
This page has no retailer links yet; they are added at launch. No prices are shown; check the retailer. How this site is funded.
Without the app, and without paying
| Cooker | Cooks without the app | Subscription required | App generation note | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 | yes Anova: “All Anova devices have manual controls except for the Mini sous vide cooker, which requires the app”; its support guide sets temperature with the scroll wheel on the device | no optional: Anova Premium, a paid plan (yearly or monthly) after a 14-day trial, for recipes and extra app features; Anova: “Your Anova devices work without a subscription” | Anova says a new unified app is “coming in 2026”, so app terms can change | Amazon link at launch |
| Breville Joule Turbo | not stated Breville's US guide starts a cook from the Breville+ app on a phone and describes no temperature controls on the device; no Breville source read says whether it can cook without the app | no none required: Breville says Breville+ is “all still free” with a compatible appliance | Breville: “Currently, you can't pair your original Joule to the new app”; the original Joule and the Joule Turbo are different generations | Amazon link at launch |
Kinds of claim on this page: controls, apps, subscriptions, water limits and warranties are product evidence from each maker's page, guide or support article; a container's fit is a compatibility statement, the maker's own pairing; accuracy and speed figures such as Anova's ±0.1°C are a manufacturer claim this page does not repeat as a finding; anything no source states, such as whether the Joule Turbo cooks without a phone, is unknown. No price is shown.
- An account is a separate question from a subscription: Anova says its devices work with a free account.
- Remote control, notifications and recipes are app features; which of them each plan includes is the maker's to change, and is shown here as read on 2026-09-25.
- Anova says a new unified app is “coming in 2026”, so app terms can change.
Anova's US product page links a “Quick Start Guide: Europe”; the US support article is cited for manual operation instead. Anova says a new unified app is “coming in 2026”, so app terms can change. Breville: “Currently, you can't pair your original Joule to the new app”; the original Joule and the Joule Turbo are different generations. Breville Joule Turbo: on Amazon on 2026-10-03 the Joule Turbo (B0C384T4P2, listed as BSV600PSS) was sold and shipped by Amazon.com; on 2026-09-25 it had been sold by a third-party seller.
We tested nothing: no temperature accuracy, heating time, noise or energy measurements. Setting a temperature is not proof of food safety; follow the makers' guidance and trusted food-safety sources. App terms are as read on the date shown and can change.
The two cookers side by side: Anova Precision Cooker 3.0 vs Breville Joule Turbo. What goes into a setup, with or without Premium: sous vide starter setup cost.