Portable induction cookware compatibility
Last checked 2026-09-25.
Per their manuals, a pan works on these portable induction cooktops only if it is magnetic, has a flat base, and its flat base (not its rim) is big enough: at least 5.5 in (14 cm) on the Breville Control Freak Home, whose manual gives 10 in (26 cm) as the size for most even heating, and 5.7 to 8.2 in (14.5 to 21 cm) on the Amazon Basics 1800W. Aluminum, copper and non-magnetic stainless are excluded by both. Each manual adds rules this page cannot check for you, listed below. A magnet that sticks firmly to the base is the Breville manual's own quick test.
This page has no retailer links yet; they are added at launch. No prices are shown; check the retailer. How this site is funded.
The stated rules
| Cooktop | Pan base diameter | Material | Base shape | Also required, not checked here | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breville Control Freak Home | 5.5–10 in (14–26 cm), as printed; the upper figure is the manual's size for most even heating, not a stated limit | the manual: aluminum, copper and stainless steel pans “will not work”; stainless steel with a base and cast iron are shown as compatible; if a magnet attracts firmly to the base, it is suitable; confirm suitability with the cookware maker | the manual: do not use cookware with a concave or convex base; the sensor will not work, and the cookware must touch the sensor | for stainless steel: a base or multi-layer bottom, not single-layer stainless without a base, which the manual shows as unsuitable (it can distort); the cookware maker's own confirmation that it suits induction, as the manual asks | no Amazon link |
| Amazon Basics 1800W induction | 5.7–8.2 in (14.5–21 cm), as printed | the manual: only induction cookware with a magnetized metal bottom; suitable is iron, cast iron, magnetic stainless steel or enamelled cast iron; not suitable is ceramic, glass, copper, bronze or aluminium | the manual: a flat bottom is suitable; curved, uneven or rounded bottoms are not | a bottom thicker than 0.05 in (1.5 mm); not a completely closed container or can | Amazon link at launch |
Measure the flat part of the base that sits on the glass. A 10.25 in skillet is usually sold by its rim size; its base is smaller, and only the base counts here. Neither manual states a weight limit.
Kinds of claim on this page: cookware rules, controls, electrical ratings and clearances are product evidence from each maker's US manual or product page; whether a pan works is a compatibility statement, the manual's own rule, checked here against the pan you describe; features such as fast recovery or accuracy are a manufacturer claim we do not restate as a finding; anything no manual states, such as a weight limit, is unknown. No price is shown.
Worked examples
| Pan | Breville Control Freak Home | Amazon Basics 1800W induction |
|---|---|---|
| 8 in cast iron, flat | meets the checked rules — still check: for stainless steel: a base or multi-layer bottom, not single-layer stainless without a base, which the manual shows as unsuitable (it can distort); the cookware maker's own confirmation that it suits induction, as the manual asks; no weight limit is stated | meets the checked rules — still check: a bottom thicker than 0.05 in (1.5 mm); not a completely closed container or can; no weight limit is stated |
| 9.5 in cast iron, flat | meets the checked rules — still check: for stainless steel: a base or multi-layer bottom, not single-layer stainless without a base, which the manual shows as unsuitable (it can distort); the cookware maker's own confirmation that it suits induction, as the manual asks; no weight limit is stated | outside the stated size — base above the maximum |
| 24 cm magnetic stainless, flat | meets the checked rules — still check: for stainless steel: a base or multi-layer bottom, not single-layer stainless without a base, which the manual shows as unsuitable (it can distort); the cookware maker's own confirmation that it suits induction, as the manual asks; no weight limit is stated | outside the stated size — base above the maximum |
| 5 in cast iron, flat | outside the stated size — base below the minimum | outside the stated size — base below the minimum |
| 8 in aluminum, flat | not suitable — material | not suitable — material |
| 8 in enamelled cast iron, flat | not stated — material not named in the manual | meets the checked rules — still check: a bottom thicker than 0.05 in (1.5 mm); not a completely closed container or can; no weight limit is stated |
| 8 in cast iron, warped base | not suitable — base not flat | not suitable — base not flat |
| 8 in cast iron, flatness not known | not stated — flatness not known | not stated — flatness not known |
Check your pan
Without JavaScript the check does not update; the rules and examples above are complete. "not stated" means no manual read settles it, not that the pan fits. Confirm with the cookware maker, as the Breville manual asks.
Left out, and why
- Duxtop 9600LS, 9610LS and 8100MC (B01FLR0ET8, B07KSNTSVR, B0045QEPYM): sold by a third-party seller (Lafraise) on 2026-09-25, not Amazon.com
- Named pans with a stated base diameter: the makers' pages read (for example Lodge's skillets) give rim or cooking-surface sizes, not the base diameter these limits are about; measure your own pan's flat base instead
- Built-in ranges, wiring and canning use: out of scope: this covers portable 120 V countertop units only
We tested nothing: no temperature accuracy, heating speed, evenness or energy measurements. 1800 W is each maker's maximum rating, not typical use. A pan that passes the manual's rules is not proven to heat evenly. No wiring, adapter or plug change is suggested: both are 120 V units for a standard outlet on the circuit their manuals describe.
The two cooktops: Breville Control Freak Home vs Amazon Basics 1800W. Their heat controls: power levels vs temperature control.