Breville Control Freak Home vs Amazon Basics 1800W induction
Last checked 2026-09-25.
Per their manuals, both are 120 V, 1800 W single-burner induction cooktops, but they control heat differently: the Breville Control Freak Home holds a set temperature using a sensor that reads the pan through the glass, plus a food probe; the Amazon Basics has eight power levels and a 160–440°F temperature mode, with no surface sensor or probe described. The Breville's manual sets a 5.5 in (14 cm) minimum base and gives 10 in (26 cm) for most even heating; the Amazon Basics manual allows 5.7 to 8.2 in (14.5 to 21 cm).
This page has no retailer links yet; they are added at launch. No prices are shown; check the retailer. How this site is funded.
Side by side
| Breville Control Freak Home | Amazon Basics 1800W induction | |
|---|---|---|
| Model | BMC800BSS1BNA1 | C18-RK18W01B |
| How heat is controlled | temperature setpoint, a through-glass sensor that reads the pan's surface temperature, and a food probe | eight power levels (300–1800 W) or a temperature mode; no pan-surface sensor or food probe is described |
| Temperatures | product page: 77–482°F in its description, 77–428°F in its spec list; the manual's presets run from 130°F (Low) to 482°F (Stir fry) | temperature mode 160–440°F (71–226°C), per the manual; the manual does not say how the temperature is sensed |
| Pan base diameter | 5.5–10 in (14–26 cm), as printed; the upper figure is the manual's size for most even heating, not a stated limit the manual: cookware smaller than 5.5 in (14 cm) “may not work (material dependent)”; the manual: “For most even heating, max base 10 in / 26 cm” (a guide for evenness, not a stated refusal) | 5.7–8.2 in (14.5–21 cm), as printed the manual: bottom diameter 5.7–8.2 in (14.5–21 cm) suitable; less than 5.7 in not suitable; the manual: more than 8.2 in (21 cm) not suitable |
| Pan rules this site does not check | for stainless steel: a base or multi-layer bottom, not single-layer stainless without a base, which the manual shows as unsuitable (it can distort); the cookware maker's own confirmation that it suits induction, as the manual asks | a bottom thicker than 0.05 in (1.5 mm); not a completely closed container or can |
| Pan material | the manual: aluminum, copper and stainless steel pans “will not work”; stainless steel with a base and cast iron are shown as compatible; if a magnet attracts firmly to the base, it is suitable; confirm suitability with the cookware maker | the manual: only induction cookware with a magnetized metal bottom; suitable is iron, cast iron, magnetic stainless steel or enamelled cast iron; not suitable is ceramic, glass, copper, bronze or aluminium |
| Pan base shape | the manual: do not use cookware with a concave or convex base; the sensor will not work, and the cookware must touch the sensor | the manual: a flat bottom is suitable; curved, uneven or rounded bottoms are not |
| Weight limit | not stated in the manual read | not stated in the manual read |
| Electrical | 120 V, 60 Hz, on a 15–20 A circuit with a fuse or circuit breaker (manual); 1800 W (product page) | 120 V, 60 Hz, max 15 A, max 1800 W (manual) |
| Clearance | at least 8 in (20 cm) from walls, curtains and other heat- or steam-sensitive materials, with space above and on all sides for air circulation (manual p. 3); at least 10 cm free space around the cooker to prevent overheating (manual p. 11) | at least 6 in (15 cm) between the product and other objects or walls (manual) |
| Warranty | 2-year limited (product page) | not stated in the manual read |
| Recall check (CPSC) | none found | none found |
| Manual | Breville Control Freak Home instruction book (US) | Amazon Basics 1800 W portable induction cooktop manual (B07S2628R9) |
| Buy | no Amazon link | Amazon link at launch |
Kinds of claim on this page: cookware rules, controls, electrical ratings and clearances are product evidence from each maker's US manual or product page; whether a pan works is a compatibility statement, the manual's own rule, checked here against the pan you describe; features such as fast recovery or accuracy are a manufacturer claim we do not restate as a finding; anything no manual states, such as a weight limit, is unknown. No price is shown.
What the difference means for your pans
- A pan with an 8.5 to 10 in base is outside the Amazon Basics manual's stated range but within the size the Breville's manual gives for even heating.
- Placement differs: the Breville manual asks for 8 in (20 cm) from walls and curtains; the Amazon Basics manual 6 in (15 cm) from objects or walls.
- Neither manual states a weight limit, so heavy pots are not ruled in or out here.
- Aluminum, copper and non-magnetic stainless pans are excluded by both manuals.
Breville Control Freak Home: not found on Amazon sold by Amazon.com on 2026-09-25, so it gets no link. Its product page gives 77–482°F in its description but 77–428°F in its spec list; the manual's presets reach 482°F. Both product-page figures are shown as the maker gives them.
Left out, and why
- Duxtop 9600LS, 9610LS and 8100MC (B01FLR0ET8, B07KSNTSVR, B0045QEPYM): sold by a third-party seller (Lafraise) on 2026-09-25, not Amazon.com
- Named pans with a stated base diameter: the makers' pages read (for example Lodge's skillets) give rim or cooking-surface sizes, not the base diameter these limits are about; measure your own pan's flat base instead
- Built-in ranges, wiring and canning use: out of scope: this covers portable 120 V countertop units only
We tested nothing: no temperature accuracy, heating speed, evenness or energy measurements. 1800 W is each maker's maximum rating, not typical use. A pan that passes the manual's rules is not proven to heat evenly. No wiring, adapter or plug change is suggested: both are 120 V units for a standard outlet on the circuit their manuals describe.
Check your own pan against both: portable induction cookware compatibility. What power levels and temperature control each do: power levels vs temperature control.