ApplianceEvidence

Ninja CREAMi vs a compressor ice cream maker

Last checked 2026-10-03.

They make frozen desserts in opposite orders. Per Ninja's guide the CREAMi needs the base frozen for at least 24 hours before it can process it; per Whynter's manual the ICM-201SB needs no pre-freezing, because its built-in compressor freezes the mix while it churns, within 30 to 60 minutes.

As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.

What each workflow asks of you

Side by side

Ninja CREAMi NC301Whynter ICM-201SB
Kindfrozen-base processorcompressor churner
How a batch is madeFreeze the base in a pint for at least 24 hours on a level surface, with the freezer set between 9°F and -7°F, then process.No pre-freezing: pour the mix into the bowl; the built-in compressor freezes it while churning, within 30 to 60 minutes per the manual. Let the unit stand upright about 2 hours before first use.
Container16 oz. CREAMi Pint with storage lidremovable 2.1 qt stainless steel mixing bowl (built in; no storage containers listed)
Containers in the box20
Fill limitDo not fill past the pint's MAX FILL line.The mixture should not exceed 60% of the bowl's capacity, because it expands as it freezes.
Programs7 (Ninja's model name, '7-in-1')ice cream, cooling only, mixing only (manual)
Power800 W180 W (maximum power consumption (manual))
Room it runs innot stateda well-ventilated room above 60°F and below 90°F, vents unobstructed (manual)
Unit dimensions (case only)12.07 × 6.52 × 15.95 in (L × W × H, Amazon listing’s Product Dimensions; the same listing’s Item Dimensions field gives 18.39 × 8.58 × 18.39 in)12.5 × 10.75 × 14.25 in (W × D × H, manual)
Operating space, per the guideno clearance figure stated; the guide says to place it on a “clean, dry, level surface such as a countertop”the vents “must be completely unobstructed”, in a well-ventilated room between 60°F and 90°F; no clearance distance stated
Freezer space (per batch)one 16 oz pint per batch; listed pint size 4.13 × 4.67 × 4.13 in (Amazon listing for the original pints)none needed to make a batch
SellerSold by Amazon.comSold by Amazon.com
Owner's guideNinja NC300 Series owner's guide (lists NC301)Whynter ICM-201SB user manual
BuyAmazon ›Amazon ›

Power figures are different measures: the CREAMi's is its rating in Ninja's guide; the Whynter's is the manual's maximum power consumption. Neither is an energy-use comparison, and the CREAMi's freezer time is not counted in either.

Kinds of claim on this page: workflow, fill limits, power and operating conditions are each maker's owner's guide, a manufacturer claim; what is in the box, dimensions marked "Amazon listing" are the Amazon listing's statements and container compatibility is SharkNinja's own accessory pages, read 2026-10-03; product evidence here is limited to those documented specifications; anything no source states is unknown and shown as not stated.

Left out, and why

We tested nothing: no taste, texture, noise or freezer-energy comparisons, and no recipes. Nothing here says one machine makes better ice cream, or that a homemade dessert suits a diet or is free of an allergen. Third-party "compatible" pints are not covered; Ninja's guides say to use only accessories it provides or recommends.

Choosing between CREAMi models: CREAMi vs CREAMi Deluxe. Setup with extra pints: CREAMi setup.