Levoit Classic 160 vs Dreo HM311 vs Blueair DreamWell
Last checked 2026-10-03.
Per their manuals, the Levoit Classic 160 and Dreo HM311 are ultrasonic with 0.66 gal / 2.5 L and 4 L tanks, and the Blueair DreamWell H38i is evaporative with an automatic humidity target (target settable from 30% to 60%, default 50%). None of the three manuals states a mist output rate; only Levoit states a room size (219 ft² / 20 m² ("effective range")). Warranties: Levoit 2 years, Dreo 12 months, Blueair 1 year, plus 2 more on registration.
As an Amazon Associate ApplianceEvidence earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate status never decides what is listed or how it compares. No prices are shown; check the current price at the retailer. More.
Side by side
| Levoit Classic 160 | Dreo HM311 | Blueair DreamWell H38i | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model (from the manual) | LUH-A251-WUS | DR-HHM001 | H38i (3331912000) |
| Type | ultrasonic | ultrasonic | evaporative |
| Tank | 0.66 gal / 2.5 L | 4 L | 1 gallon (the manual's product name) |
| Mist output | not stated in the manual | not stated in the manual | not stated in the manual |
| Room size stated | 219 ft² / 20 m² ("effective range") | not stated in the manual | not stated in the manual |
| Rated power | 17 W | 26 W | not stated in the manual |
| Noise stated | < 28 dB | not stated in the manual | not stated in the manual |
| Water | purified or distilled water recommended; avoid water with high mineral content | purified or distilled water recommended "to prevent white powder residue from forming"; tap water not recommended | clean tap water is safe; impurities are captured in the wick, so visible residue there is normal |
| Cleaning | change the water daily; clean every 3 days; descale with white vinegar | change water regularly; descale about once a month (a bleach solution in the tank, a 50/50 vinegar soak for the float, filter and silencer) | clean the water tank and pump weekly (citric acid soak for the pump); machine-wash the wick every 1 to 2 weeks |
| Filters and pads | water filter sponge: clean or replace regularly (no interval stated) | aroma pad: replace when stiff | wick: replace every 12 months |
| Placement | not stated in the manual | on a flat, level surface 2 ft (60 cm) above the floor and 12 in (30 cm) from walls; not on carpet or directly on the floor | not stated in the manual |
| Warranty | 2 years | 12 months | 1 year, plus 2 more on registration |
| Amazon offer | Amazon.com | Amazon.com | Amazon.com |
| Recall check | none found no CPSC recall names Levoit or this model | none found no CPSC recall names Dreo or this model | none found no CPSC recall names Blueair or this model |
| Manual | Levoit LUH-A251-WUS user manual (levoit.com) | Dreo DR-HHM001 user manual (the maker's PDF on the Amazon listing) | Blueair H38i/H76i user manual (blueair.com) |
| Buy | Amazon › | Amazon › | Amazon › |
No prices are shown: check the current price at the retailer. The comparison is on what each maker's manual states.
Care that applies to every humidifier
From the EPA's Use and Care of Home Humidifiers (read 2026-10-03):
- Ultrasonic and impeller ("cool mist") humidifiers can disperse microorganisms and minerals from their water tanks into indoor air, so their care matters most.
- Use water with low mineral content, such as distilled water, to avoid releasing minerals into the air.
- Empty the tank, wipe it dry and refill it daily; clean portable humidifiers every third day.
- Do not humidify above 50% relative humidity: wetter air encourages dust mites and mold. A hygrometer shows the level.
- Steam (warm-mist) units can cause burns; keep them out of children's reach. None of the three models here is a steam unit.
The EPA's mold guide (Mold, Moisture and Your Home) puts the ideal indoor range at 30 to 50 percent relative humidity. Where each maker's own instructions differ from this, the table shows the maker's words.
Kinds of claim on this page: the EPA guidance and the cited studies are product evidence in the sense of an independent source; tank, type, water, cleaning, placement and warranty are each maker's manual statement, a manufacturer claim; anything the manual does not state, including every model's mist output rate, is unknown and shown as not stated. Recall check: the CPSC recall database on 2026-10-03 (CPSC recall database (saferproducts.gov recall API): product name 'humidifier' (30 recalls), and product name and recall title 'Levoit', 'Dreo' and 'Blueair'); none of the 30 humidifier recalls names Levoit, Dreo or Blueair, and the brand queries return none. That is not proof of safety: check your unit's model number.
Left out, and why
- Levoit NeoClassic 450 (LUH-N451-WUS): no maker manual found, and this pilot takes model facts only from manuals
- Dreo DR-HHM006: a second Dreo ultrasonic model adds no comparison
- Canopy Bedside evaporative humidifier: the Amazon offer is sold by the brand, not Amazon.com; this pilot links Amazon.com offers only
We tested nothing: no humidity, output, noise or white-dust measurements. Nothing here says a humidifier treats dry skin, allergies, colds or any condition, and a maker's room-size figure is not independent evidence of what suits your room.
More on humidifiers: evaporative vs ultrasonic, does a humidifier help dry skin?. Too humid instead: dehumidifiers.